Posted by: bluesyemre | May 22, 2013

Goodbye Cybrarians, Hello Moocbrarians: Envisioning the Role of Librarians in Massive Online Open Courses

Live Webcast
May 22, 2013
11 a.m. Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern

90 minutes

Description: Technology is enabling Higher Education to change more in the next ten years than it has in the past hundred. Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) are potentially one such technological innovation and have generated a lot of press in the past year. This live, interactive webcast will focus on the role of the librarian in these online courses. First, we will examine what librarians are currently doing to provide support for these institutional course offerings. Next, we will discuss possible future roles that librarians can play as MOOCs move from the margins to the mainstream.

Learning Outcomes:

  • Learn about current library efforts to support MOOCs (e.g. copyright and licensing).
  • Learn about new strategic challenges that MOOCs present for libraries (e.g. scale and remote services for diverse course demographics).
  • Learn about new strategic opportunities that MOOCs present for libraries (e.g. information literacy instruction and Open Educational Resources (OERs).

Presenter: John D. Shank, Instructional Design Librarian, Associate Director of the Center for Learning and Teaching (CLT), Instructor in Communication Arts & Sciences, Penn State Berks
Co-founder of  The Blended Librarian

http://www.ala.org/acrl/mooc


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: