Posted by: bluesyemre | April 21, 2018

2018 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards


The ALA/AIA Library Building Awards are co-sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and the American Institute of Architects (AIA). The annual competition recognizes excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries.  Awards for distinguished accomplishment in library architecture by an architect licensed in the United States will be made for any library in the United States or abroad.  The program is managed by the LLAMA Buildings and Equipment Community of Practice Library Buildings Awards Committee.

Six projects to receive the 2018 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards. This awards program was developed to encourage and recognize excellence in the architectural design of libraries, reflecting the evolving role of the library as a community space.

The six recipients of the 2018 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards are:

Austin Central Library – Austin, Texas
Lake|Flato Architects, and Shepley Bulfinch

____________________________________________________________________________________________Eastham Public Library – Eastham, Massachusetts
Oudens Ello Architecture

Hastings Public Library Renovation/Addition – Hastings, Nebraska
The Clark Enersen Partners

Laurel Branch Library – Largo, Maryland
Grimm + Parker Architects

Pico Branch Library – Santa Monica, California
Koning Eizenberg Architecture, Inc.

Tulsa City-County Central Library – Tulsa, Oklahoma
MSR Design

Recipients will be honored June 25 during the 2018 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: